July Reading List | TBR | Book Haul

July Reading List | #TBR

As with any book nerd, my to-read list is miles long. But I’m surprisingly terrible at keeping myself on task.

I’m so fed up of saying “I keep meaning to read that” on a regular basis. I need a framework.

Thus, the reading list.

 

Here are the books I’m FINALLY tackling in July:

1. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Every since this book won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in April, I’ve been meaning to pick it up. It tells the intertwining stories of a young blind girl living in Paris whose father constructed a scale model of the city, and of a young German boy obsessed with radio technology. And it’s historical fiction, set during WWII. History? Intrigue? Art and technology? This is definitely up my street.

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Video games have always been a massive part of my life. I played them as a kid with my brothers, and I continue to ply them today, with my partner. So that’s one box ticked. But to make it even better, it’s clearly an incredibly dystopian story. From the book blurb: “It’s the year 2044, and the real world has become an ugly place. We’re out of oil. We’ve wrecked the climate. Famine, poverty, and disease are widespread.” SIGN ME UP.

3. More Than This by Patrick Ness

So this is a recommendation I’ve taken from Regan a.k.a. ProjectPeruse on Youtube. She’s described it as “shrouded in mystery” and she suggests going into without not really knowing anything. The main character dies in the first chapter… but then wakes up in the next. Clearly, my interest is piqued. I really enjoy Regan’s videos and we have similar views on what makes for a good story, and she absolutely loves Patrick Ness, so…. yeah, I’m giving this one a shot.

4. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

This book has had brilliant reviews, and it was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014, so I’m tasking myself with reading it. The story talks about Rosemary, who ” is now an only child, but she used to have a sister the same age as her, and an older brother. Both are now gone – vanished from her life.” What can I say? I’m a sucker for the word “vanish”. I want to know what happened to her siblings, and why she won’t talk about them. Watch this space.

5. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

A gift from my boyfriend’s mother, I’ve heard really good things about The Miniaturist. Given that one of my favourite books is Girl With A Pearl Earring, which is set in a similar context, I’m eager to give this a shot. From the description, it sounds  quirky and sort of dark and suspenseful, and it’s full of descriptions clothing and art from of the Dutch Golden Age. What’s not to like? I have a strange fondness for all literature with canals and men nameed “Johannes”.


So that’s it for now – I’ll give you an update once I’ve tackled these five books, and I’ll let you know what I think.

What are you reading this summer? Anything you would recommend? Leave a comment below!

xx

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

